The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu

2020-2021 Graduation and Year-End Celebration

HFA Virtual Graduation

View the brief video address recorded by Chair Harley Erdman for the College of Humanities and Fine Arts, as well as Undergraduate Program Director Amy Altadonna's remarks and reading of the major names:

Theater Graduation and Year-End Celebration Ceremony

View our entire ceremony celebrating the graduate students and undergraduates who have received their diplomas in 2021, as well as an acknowledgement of award winners:

Senior Slideshow

View our Senior Slideshow, including majors, minors, and BCID students:

Graduating Students


The students who received their MFAs this year are:

Sydney Becker (Lighting)
Maegan Clearwood (Costume)
Joshua Glenn-Kayden (Directing)
Tatiana Godfrey (Dramaturgy)
Calypso Michelet (Scenic and Costume)
Mikayla Reid (Costume)
Xinyuan Li (Lighting)

Majors and BDIC

Isaac Bayne
Elaine Bergeron
Isabelle Giuttari
Matthew Gover
Celena Mendes Lopes
Jessica Maldonado
Kayla Marshall
Eliza McCann
Siena Moraff
Emma Perakis
Nicole Ready
Angela Landry Ruiz
Pedro Saravia-Castillo
Ryan Taylor
Alexandra Uzbay
Yi-Wei "Winnie" Wang
Christopher Webber
Jasper Wolf


Nicole Bates
Craig Blake
Srilekha Chunduri
Sean Dsouza
Emily Formato
Aidan Gerard
Mei MacQuarrie
Brooke Morrison
Benjamin Nadelstein
Chinonyelum Onochie
Elisabeth Portier

None of the students who are currently enrolled in the Multicultural Theater Certificate completed the program this year; we look forward to recognizing them when they receive their certificates next year and beyond.

All graduating students receive an Alumni Lifetime Pass that gives them (and a guest) free admission to all Department of Theater productions for life.

A red laminated alumni lifetime pass, which entitles the bearer to 2 tickets to all department of Theater productions

Outtakes from Undergraduate Program Director Amy Altadonna's HFA video

Memories of the Year Slideshow

Click through a Google Slides slideshow of memories from throughout the year, submitted by students, faculty, and staff here.

Awards Acknowledgements

The Susan M. and Larry G. Benedict Scholarship Endowment was created to provide undergraduate scholarship support for students within the Department of Theater who are studying theater design, production, and management. Special consideration will be given to students who have demonstrated technical proficiency and a commitment to professionalism.

The 2021 Susan M. and Larry G. Benedict Scholarship recipients are:
Isaac Bayne,
Tess E. Beckwith
William T Waisnor

The award is named for Lighting Design Professor Penny Remsen, an ardent proponent of internship opportunities. The student receiving this prestigious award has shown exceptional dedication to theater design and technology within the Department of Theater.  Funds from this award, sparked by a generous gift from Alice Arkin, will directly support their 2021 summer internship opportunity.

The 2021 PENNY REMSEN INTERNSHIP Award Recipient is:
Eddie Pizzano

Frank Prentice Rand Scholarship in Drama is given to undergraduate theater majors of exceptional scholarship and outstanding achievement in the areas of:  Directing, Producing, Playwriting, Dramaturgy.

The 2021 Frank Prentice Rand Scholarship in Drama recipients are:
Jessica Maldonado
Siena Moraff
Victoria B Tavares

The purpose of the Ed Golden Acting Scholarship Endowment is to honor the exemplary teaching career of Professor Emeritus Edward J. Golden by recognizing and fostering students with exceptional acting talent through scholarship awards. Awards are genrally made to Theater majors who are either sophomores or juniors who have demonstrated outstanding promise and commitment to the art. 

The 2020-2021 Ed Golden Acting Scholarship recipients are:
Awarded in Fall 2020: 
Taylor Mickens 

Awarded in Spring 21:
Fleur Kuhta
Victoria Lee

The William F. Field Scholarship, awarded by the Alumni Association to students across the University, recognizes juniors for outstanding academic achievement, as well as their respective contributions to the arts, athletics, research, or service to the campus community. UMass Theater’s nominee is: 
Arianna Morales

The Senior Leadership Award, awarded by the Alumni Association to students across the University, is presented to graduating seniors and recognizes students who have distinguished themselves through outstanding leadership and service to the community. UMass Theater’s nominee is:
Matthew Gover

The Denise Lessard Wagner Community Spirit Award is given to individuals who, through their beyond-the-call-of-duty dedication and commitment, have made an outstanding contribution to the community spirit of the Department of Theater.  The exceptional challenges of the pandemic have led us to unusual decision with this award this year. We have decided to give the award to the entire graduating Theater class of 2021.