The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Admissions

Graduate Music Concentrations

DEGREE SUBPLANS (required & optional courses) for all graduate music programs are also available on the Masters Programs and PhD Programs webpages, and the Graduate Handbook (pdf file).  See the page for Graduate Admissions Info/Requirements to learn more and to find out whether your Concentration requires an Audition.
 

Coordinators and their contact info are listed for each graduate concentration:

Collaborative Piano: Prof. Nadine Shank, shank@nadineshank.com


Composition: Prof. Salvatore Macchia, smacchia@music.umass.edu


Conducting: For both MM in Conducting & MM in Music Education with Conducting Emphasis





Music Education: Prof. Lisa Lehmberg, lehmberg@music.umass.edu


Music Theory: Prof. Jason Hooper, hooper@music.umass.edu


Music History: Prof. Erinn Knyt, eknyt@music.umass.edu, 413-545-1247


Jazz Composition & Arranging: Prof. Jeffrey Holmes, jwholmes@music.umass.edu, 413-545-6046


Performance: Contact the Professor who teaches your instrument/voice. See info for the Graduate String Quartet Program.


Graduate Program Director
Professor Erinn Knyt
Department of Music and Dance, Fine Arts Center Room 366
University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9330
Phone: 413-545-1247, e-mail: eknyt@music.umass.edu

Additional information or mailed forms may be obtained from the:

Music Admissions Director, Nathaniel Gowen
Fine Arts Center Room 263A
University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9300
musicadmissions@umass.edu, (413) 545-6048