The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Section Menu

Music Faculty

Matthew Westgate, Director of Wind Studies

Matthew Westgate

Chair and Associate Professor; Director of Wind Studies

mwestgate@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-0839


271 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

mwestgate@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-0839


271 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Daniel Albert, Assistant Professor of Music Education

Daniel Albert

Assistant Professor of Music Education

dalbert@umass.edu

(413) 545-9302


358 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

dalbert@umass.edu

(413) 545-9302


358 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Timothy T. Anderson

Timothy T. Anderson

Senior Lecturer, Director of the Minuteman Marching Band

tanderson@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-6061


George N. Parks Minuteman Marching Band Building, Room 207


View Bio

tanderson@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-6061


George N. Parks Minuteman Marching Band Building, Room 207


View Bio

Edward Arron, cello

Edward Arron

Associate Professor, Cello

earron@umass.edu

Personal website


281 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

earron@umass.edu

Personal website


281 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Brent Auerbach

Brent Auerbach

Professor, Music Theory

brent@umass.edu

(413) 545-0521

Musical Motives (Oxford, 2021) and other research


361 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

brent@umass.edu

(413) 545-0521

Musical Motives (Oxford, 2021) and other research


361 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Steven Beck

Steven Beck

Assistant Professor, Piano

ssbeck@umass.edu


276 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

ssbeck@umass.edu


276 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Eric Berlin, trumpet

Eric Berlin

Professor, Trumpet

berlin@music.umass.edu

Personal website


256 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

berlin@music.umass.edu

Personal website


256 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

John Bottomley, tuba

John Bottomley

Senior Lecturer, Tuba & Euphonium

Lindsay Bronnenkant

Lindsay Bronnenkant

Lecturer, Wind Studies

lbronnenkant@umass.edu

(413) 545-6056


257 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

lbronnenkant@umass.edu

(413) 545-6056


257 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Elizabeth Chang, violin

Elizabeth Chang

Professor, Violin

echang@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-0023

Personal website


283 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

echang@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-0023

Personal website


283 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Fredric T. Cohen, oboe

Fredric T. Cohen

Professor, Oboe

fcohen@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-4688

Personal website


272 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

fcohen@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-4688

Personal website


272 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Romie de Guise-Langlois, clarinet

Romie de Guise-Langlois

Associate Professor, Clarinet

rdeguiselang@umass.edu

Personal website


279 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

rdeguiselang@umass.edu

Personal website


279 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Cobus du Toit, flute

Cobus du Toit

Associate Professor, Flute

cdutoit@umass.edu


255 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

cdutoit@umass.edu


255 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Robert Ferrier, jazz guitar

Robert Ferrier

Adjunct Faculty, Jazz Studies, Jazz Guitar

rferrier@music.umass.edu


167 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

rferrier@music.umass.edu


167 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Tom Giampietro, jazz drum set

Thomas Giampietro

Senior Lecturer, Jazz Studies, Drum Set

thomasg@music.umass.edu

Tom Giampietro's website


149M Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

thomasg@music.umass.edu

Tom Giampietro's website


149M Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Ronald Gorevic, viola

Ronald Gorevic

Viola Instructor

rgorevic@umass.edu


285 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

rgorevic@umass.edu


285 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Jamie-Rose Guarrine, soprano, voice faculty

Jamie-Rose Guarrine

Associate Professor, Voice

jguarrine@music.umass.edu

Personal Website


261 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

jguarrine@music.umass.edu

Personal Website


261 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Jennifer Harding

Jennifer Harding

Lecturer of Music Theory

jdharding@umass.edu


359 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

jdharding@umass.edu


359 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

William Hite, tenor

William Hite

Professor, Voice

williamhite@music.umass.edu

Personal website


263B Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

williamhite@music.umass.edu

Personal website


263B Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Jeffrey W. Holmes, Jazz & African-American Music Studies

Jeffrey W. Holmes

Professor, Director of Jazz & African American Music Studies, Composition, Conductor

jwholmes@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-6046

Personal Website


252 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

jwholmes@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-6046

Personal Website


252 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Jason Hooper, music theory

Jason Hooper

Senior Lecturer II, Music Theory

hooper@umass.edu


360 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

hooper@umass.edu


360 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Jonathan Hulting-Cohen

Jonathan Hulting-Cohen

Associate Professor, Saxophone

hultingcohen@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-2810

Personal Website


258 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

hultingcohen@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-2810

Personal Website


258 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Catherine Jensen-Hole, jazz voice

Catherine Jensen-Hole

Senior Lecturer II, Vocal Jazz, Undergraduate Composition & Arranging

jensen-hole@music.umass.edu


149N Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

jensen-hole@music.umass.edu


149N Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Ayano Kataoka, percussion

Ayano Kataoka

Professor, Percussion

ayano@music.umass.edu

Personal Website


254 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

ayano@music.umass.edu

Personal Website


254 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Erinn E. Knyt

Erinn E. Knyt

Professor, Music History; Graduate Program Director

eknyt@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-1247


366 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

eknyt@music.umass.edu

(413) 545-1247


366 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Ludmila Krasin, photo by Eric Berlin

Ludmila V. Krasin

Senior Lecturer II, Piano

lkrasin@music.umass.edu

(413) 577-1165


265 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

lkrasin@music.umass.edu

(413) 577-1165


265 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Lisa J. Lehmberg, music education (coordinator)

Lisa J. Lehmberg

Professor, Music Education

lehmberg@umass.edu


355 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

lehmberg@umass.edu


355 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Evan MacCarthy, Music History

Evan MacCarthy

Five College Visiting Assistant Professor, Music History

Salvatore Macchia

Salvatore Macchia

Professor; Composition, String Bass

Marjorie Melnick, mezzo-soprano, voice faculty

Marjorie Melnick

Senior Lecturer, Voice

melnick@music.umass.edu


262 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

melnick@music.umass.edu


262 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Joshua Michal, horn

Joshua Michal

Associate Professor, Horn

jmichal@music.umass.edu

Prof. Michal's website


270 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

jmichal@music.umass.edu

Prof. Michal's website


270 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Morihiko Nakahara

Morihiko Nakahara

Assistant Professor, Director of Orchestral Studies

mnakahara@umass.edu


259 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

mnakahara@umass.edu


259 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Olabode Omajola, Five College professor, ethnomusicology

Olabode Omojola

Five College Professor, Ethnomusicology

bomojola@mtholyoke.edu

(413) 538-2483


209 Pratt Hall | Mt. Holyoke College


View Bio

bomojola@mtholyoke.edu

(413) 538-2483


209 Pratt Hall | Mt. Holyoke College


View Bio

Stephen A. Paparo

Stephen A. Paparo

Associate Professor, Music Education, Choral Conductor

spaparo@music.umass.edu


357 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

spaparo@music.umass.edu


357 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Jeewon Park, piano

Jeewon Park

Piano Instructor

jeewonpark@umass.edu

Personal website


276 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

jeewonpark@umass.edu

Personal website


276 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Miriam Piilonen, Music Theorist

Miriam Piilonen

Assistant Professor, Music Theory; Honors Program Director

mpiilonen@umass.edu

Personal website


356 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

mpiilonen@umass.edu

Personal website


356 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Lindsay Pope

Lindsay Pope

Interim Director of Choral Activities

lpope@umass.edu

(413) 545-0437


253 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

lpope@umass.edu

(413) 545-0437


253 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Emiliano Ricciardi, music history

Emiliano Ricciardi

Associate Professor, Music History

ericciardi@music.umass.edu


364 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

ericciardi@music.umass.edu


364 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Marianna Ritchey

Marianna Ritchey

Associate Professor, Music History

mritchey@umass.edu


362 Bromery Center for the Arts, Lively Arts Office


View Bio

mritchey@umass.edu


362 Bromery Center for the Arts, Lively Arts Office


View Bio

Felipe Salles, jazz saxophone and composition

Felipe Salles

Professor, Jazz Studies, Composition, Saxophone

fsalles@music.umass.edu

Personal Website


250 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

fsalles@music.umass.edu

Personal Website


250 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Christine Sirard, Marching Band Assistant Director & Visual Coordinator

Christine McHugh Sirard

Lecturer, Assistant Conductor & Visual Coordinator of the Minuteman Marching Band

csirard@umass.edu


George Parks Marching Band Building


View Bio

csirard@umass.edu


George Parks Marching Band Building


View Bio

Gregory Spiridopoulos, trombone

Gregory Spiridopoulos

Professor, Trombone (On sabbatical, Fall 2022)

gspiro@music.umass.edu

UMass Brass Area webpage


260 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

gspiro@music.umass.edu

UMass Brass Area webpage


260 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Remy Taghavi

Rémy Taghavi

Assistant Professor, Bassoon

rtaghavi@umass.edu


167 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

rtaghavi@umass.edu


167 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Fumi Tomita, jazz bass

Fumi Tomita

Associate Professor, String Bass (Jazz)

stomita@music.umass.edu


251 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

stomita@music.umass.edu


251 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Gilles Vonsattel, piano

Gilles Vonsattel

Professor, Piano; Coordinator of Piano Area

gvonsatt@admin.umass.edu

Personal Website


274 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

gvonsatt@admin.umass.edu

Personal Website


274 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

Christopher Wm. White

Christopher White

Assistant Professor, Music Theory

cwmwhite@music.umass.edu

Personal website


363 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio

cwmwhite@music.umass.edu

Personal website


363 Bromery Center for the Arts


View Bio