The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Section Menu

Centenary Concert: The Music of Philip Bezanson

Philip Bezanson
Philip Bezanson

William Hite, tenor; Marjorie Melnick, mezzo-soprano; Elizabeth Chang, violin; Edward Arron, cello; Gilles Vonsattel, Nadine Shank & Jeewon Park, piano
Eric Berlin & Shane Coughlin, trumpet; Josh Michal, horn; Greg Spiridopoulos & Matthew Westgate, trombone; John Bottomley, tuba

Four Bagatelles for Violin & Piano (1969)
Duo for Cello & Piano (1965)
Prelude & Dance for Brass Sextet (1961)
Contrasts for Voice and Piano (1966), mvmt. 1 & 2

Philip Bezanson (1916-1975), a composer and educator, was Chairman of the Music Department from 1965-73 and was instrumental in its early development, appointing numerous faculty and expanding the course and concert offerings.

Free for UMass students; $5 non-UMass students, seniors; $10 general admission; $25 patron, includes reserved seating and reception with the artists
Online Ticketing or Box Office, 413-545-2511 or at the door